top of page

Recognition of the Contributions of Carmyn James


When we think about what good coaching is all about, I think it is very easy to fall into the trap of using words like “winning” or “champion” to describe the impact and legacy of such a leader. The Hollywood depiction of the “coach” reinforces this myth, celebrating only those who have paved a path to glory, in many cases by any means necessary. However, this is a very incomplete assessment of the contributions of a valuable coach, particularly as it pertains to community and character building. My assessment of the coaching contributions of Carmyn James is a comprehensive and all-encompassing one. Winning is a small part of what she contributes to the greater sporting community as a whole. She understands her role and is wholly committed to that role, and it guides her decision-making. She is truly about developing good people.

When I first started at UBC as an athlete, joining the Track and Field team seemed like a logical extension of my athletic career. I wasn’t recruited to the team. My older brother was a current member and walking-on was easy enough to do. I had a good chance to play on the basketball team, but the desire wasn’t there. I was disillusioned with traditional team sports as it seemed like these teams were guided by hype, emotion and arbitrary decisions. Yelling and screaming – many times in the form of sideline tantrums – appeared to be an acceptable coaching method to inspire or intimidate athletes into “desirable” behavior. But there was no science behind what was being done. Tradition and convention – however flawed – ruled coaching methodology. At this point in my life, I’d had enough.

All of my coaches up to this point had been males. Growing up in the 1970’s and 80’s, this was not unheard of. It was simply what you expected. Being introduced to a female coach was different and perhaps a little unsettling at the outset, given the expectations of the era. But I was raised to be respectful and motivated to give this a shot. Let’s be honest – my first year courses weren’t inspiring a deep passion inside of me. I would put some significant effort into this Track and Field thing. Fortunately for me, it all worked out.

I was very lucky to walk into the situation provided at UBC. My overall impressions of the training environment provided by Carmyn were as follows:

  • A professional approach that included monitoring of performance, technique and daily routines, as well as adherence to sound training principles (I know – even shocking by today’s standards!). We engaged in periodic physical testing and we looked forward to being evaluated.

  • An exceptionally social and supportive environment. Group activities were encouraged outside of the training venues, but everything appeared seamless. We treated each training session as a social event, and looked forward to every opportunity to get together and train.

  • Individualization of coaching. Carmyn’s approach was a collaborative effort: athletes could suggest ideas and Carmyn was always receptive to evaluating the merit of individual suggestions. Everyone was felt as though they had a valued opinion.

  • A sense of inclusiveness for all. No matter how talented you were or how untalented you were, everyone was made to feel as though they belonged and merited individual attention. It is always easy as a coach to gravitate toward your best athletes who have the greatest chance to achieve success. Coaches are evaluated on how many successful athletes they produce. Carmyn has the ability to make every athlete feel valued, while at the same time achieve exceptional results. This is a rare quality in coaching. She has had champions in both Canada and the NCAA, all at the same time retaining her integrity, humility and positive attitude.

  • A recognition of the importance of technology. One of the most important elements that I picked up from Carmyn in the effort to advance performance is the use of video technology to review mechanics and document competition performances. Having video feedback as an athlete not only made me a better athlete, but it also made me a better coach in the long run.

  • Focusing on the development of the person, not the athlete. Carmyn was always concerned about the individual. It wasn’t always about performances or results. I firmly believed that she had a sense that if she could connect with the individual on a personal level, it would only advance the performance qualities of that athlete. This is something that I have carried into my approach as a coach and I have established many lifelong relationships with the majority of the athletes I have coached.

It is important to recognize that the points above represent not only what is required to enhance the performance of athletes, but also what is required to develop the character and potential of individuals. We come to understand in Track and Field that most of us will never be champions, as we are constrained by the genetic limitations passed on by our parents. But when you have a coach like Carmyn James in your corner, you are well aware that the training is about the process of self-improvement and the experience of being involved with great people. As a result, Carmyn has been instrumental in developing individuals who are leaders in their fields and communities. This is something that should be afforded more attention when assessing the achievements of a coach.

I was lucky in that I improved every year as a university athlete, qualifying for the national championships five out of five years, and earning a number of medals along the way. When I hear of university athletes that are not provided with continual success, ongoing support and are not made to feel valued by their coach, I do feel sad for them. Perhaps I was provided an exceptional experience by being involved with a great coach and fabulous teammates. Carmyn’s contributions should be a standard by which all other coaches should be measured. All athletes should be as fortunate as myself. I am a better parent, husband, coach, teacher and person for my time with Carmyn James.

I look forward to paying tribute to Carmyn on January 12, 2017 at Cecil Green. Please join me to recognize Carmyn, and several others, who have raised the bar for coaches in all sports.

Derek M. Hansen

BA '91


 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page