top of page

"You can do it!"


Many great people have impacted and influenced my life but none more so than Marek Jedrzejek. I will be forever grateful to have had Marek as my coach, friend and biggest ally.

I began training with Marek when I was 12 years old. Those early years were formative in my development as an athlete and person. Marek was influential in teaching me the love of the sport, to believe in myself, strive for excellence, and to enjoy the competition. He taught me the importance of goal setting and to re-evaluate my successes and failures. Without his guidance, I would not be the driven person I am today.

My dream as a young athlete was to make a national team. Marek always told me, "you can do it!" When I was 16 years old, I made my first Junior National team and travelled to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I was over the moon just to make the team and completely thrilled when I returned with a bronze medal from the Pan American Junior event. Marek continued to set higher goals for me and encouraged me to attain them. In my grade 12 year, I set 2 BC Highschool records on the same weekend and won the BC high school athlete of the meet. One of my records still stands today. He had confidence in me, and became contagious. His biggest gift to me was his strong belief in my abilities. Even now, this has helped me become a better wife, mother and dentist.

Marek's lifelong dedication to track and field, his dogged nature, infectious enthusiasm, compassion for his athletes and tireless energy have made him the outstanding coach he is. I look forward to paying tribute to Marek, my amazing coach and friend and his brilliant career on Jan.12, 2017 at Cecil Green. Please join us to recognize this great man and many others who have dedicated their lives to our sport.

Lori Durward

BSc '95 DMD '99


 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page