top of page

Rio profile: Michael Mason


Michael Mason is a 29-year-old jumper from Nanoose Bay, BC.

Event: High Jump

Major: Kinesiology

Career highlights: gold at the 2004 World Junior Championships, silver at the 2015 Pan American Games, and represented Canada at the 2008 and 2012 Olympic Games, including an 8th place finish in London.

How did you get your start in track & field?

I started in grade 5 because one of my classmates was involved in it and my brother and I were able to carpool with their family to practices.

Most embarrassing sports moment?

One year at Harry Jerome on one of my jumps, I hit my head on the standard. I tried to play it cool while blood dripped down my singlet and everyone around me panicked.

What would you say your spirit animal is and why?

I didn't know so I took the first online quiz that google came up with. Turns out, my spirit animal is an Owl, because of my "deep connection with wisdom and intuitive knowledge".

Who is your role model?

I admire the Swedish high jumper, Stefan Holm. Although he was generally much shorter than his competition, he never used it as an excuse. He was unbelievably consistent and became one of the most successful jumpers of all time.

Favourite spot on campus?

Nitobe Memorial Garden. It's the most peaceful spot on campus.

Favourite Marek quote?

Marek loved to say "per diem per day" when he'd give us the money for track trips.

Most food you've ever eaten in one sitting?

I competed in a Jello eating competition at Western Canada Games and ate about 23 cups of Jello. A few minutes later I threw it all up.

Turning point in your career when you thought "I could be good at this?"

When I received my first shipment of Mizuno gear. It made me feel like a professional and motivated me to train harder.

What was your darkest moment as an athlete, and how did you get through it?

This year has been my hardest year so far physically and mentally. I had been struggling with injury and poor performances all season. Eventually I got to a point where I felt so defeated I had to just let go of any expectations and insecurities. A few weeks after this I jumped Olympic standard and then qualified for the team a week later...

Competing aside, what are you most looking forward to in Rio?

If I get some time, I would really like to go out and take some pictures around the city.

 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page