top of page

Rio Profile: Maria Bernard


Maria Bernard is a 23-year-old runner from Calgary, Alberta.

Event: 3000m steeplechase

Major: Science

Career highlights: 5-time NAIA Champion, and has represented Canada at the NACAC Under-23 Games, Universiade, and World Cross Country Championships.

How did you get your start in track & field?

I did cross country in junior high. In grade 9 I had a bit of success and started to think about trying club track. I was also on a soccer team and realized that I wasn't touching the ball much, just running around a lot – so I joined a track club. My first workout was a hill workout and for some strange reason I didn't want to quit after that.

Most embarrassing sports moment?

In my last season on the UBC team, I ran into a metal pole at the start of my run, right outside Walter Gage. I was changing the song on my phone, cut my head, and had to take an ambulance to the hospital to get it glued up. They didn't clean the blood on the sidewalk up for weeks after!

What would you say your spirit animal is and why?

I try not to embody this animal whilst running but I would like to say the sloth. Because they are amazing. They are actually the only animal that can starve to death on a full stomach, just because their metabolism can be so slow. I like their restful nature and can pretty sloth-like when I want to be. They are laid back and like to just hang out and eat!

Who is your role model?

My role model has always been my mum. She is the most selfless and hardworking person I know. She isn't a runner, but I admire her more than anyone!

Favourite Marek quote?

"ATTACK YOUR PB!!!"

If you were stuck on a desert island, what three items would you want to have and why?

Assuming I have a very good chance of rescue and am already wearing running shoes, I would say...my pillow, a box of pasta, and a photo of my WWF adopted sloth, Santiago.

Most food you've ever eaten in one sitting?

42 large, white cheddar rice cakes in 2 hours. No regrets.

Turning point in your career when you thought "I could be good at this?"

Two years ago I ran my first steeplechase race at UBC and it went much better than I expected. I ran a time that ranked me 6th on the all-time list and I thought maybe it would be a good event for me. I also had so much fun doing it!

What was your darkest moment as an athlete, and how did you get through it?

After World Juniors in Barcelona in 2012 I came home anemic and tired from racing. I went to Canadian Junior Track and Field Nationals three weeks later seeded first in the 1500m. I was completely burnt out and ended up going from first to seventh in the last 300m. I was disappointed because I wanted to do better and felt as though people were expecting more of me. I got over it by deciding to race again that night in the 3000m – I didn't do amazing, but I just ran for fun and tried to finish my season off on a happy note. And then I took a much needed break before starting to train for cross country season!

Nickname you want people to call you?

Anything but Maria Diarrhea.

Competing aside, what are you most looking forward to in Rio?

Probably watching my fellow teammates compete and hopefully snag some medals!

 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page