top of page

Rio profile: Ben Thorne


Ben Thorne is a 23-year-old race walker from Kitimat, BC.

Event: 20km racewalk,

Major: Applied Science

Career highlights: gold at the 2014 NACAC Under-23 Championships, silver at the 2015 Universiade, and bronze at the 2015 World Championships.

How did you get your start in track & field?

The track team at my high school was recruiting when I was in grade 8. I figured I could be okay since I could run for a long time.

Most embarrassing sports moment?

I tried the pole vault.

What would you say your spirit animal is and why?

Turtles because I like turtles.

Who is your role model?

Aragorn from Lord of the Rings.

Favourite spot on campus?

Koerner Stacks late in the evening.

Most food you've ever eaten in one sitting?

After getting off the high-fat diet and making a truck load of Mac and cheese.

Turning point in your career when you thought "I could be good at this?"

First time I saw race walk when I was 14.

What was your darkest moment as an athlete, and how did you get through it?

Getting disqualified at World Juniors. I got through it by reminding myself that it would be a shame to give up and not use my talent. Also some time helped.

Nickname you want people to call you?

Benjamint

Competing aside, what are you most looking forward to in Rio?

There are apparently free phones that they give us.

 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page