top of page

Dr. Doug Clement: A Coach For Life


I first met Dr. Doug Clement in his clinic when I was a teenager. I was used to my family doctor, who would always agree with my mother that I should sit out from sports until my asthma improved. Dr. Clement, however, told me I shouldn’t bring my mother into his office. After he examined me for several injuries and assessed my asthma, I asked him if I could play hockey that night. He looked startled. “Of course,” he said. “Have a great game.” This was the first time I noticed his impatience with stupid questions.

A few years later, I graduated from high school. I had a scholarship offer from SFU but my grades weren’t high enough to get admitted, so I went to Langara. The Langara basketball coach told me to forget about track and offered to put me in his starting line-up. But I kept thinking about Dr. Clement. I went to see him at the clinic and I asked him if UBC had a track team. He was angry at this stupid question. “Yes of course!” he said. “Come to practice this Thursday at 12:30!”

The practice started with a run through the trails, and I thought I was doing quite well until someone told me that this was the warm-up. But I loved running with athletes like Paul Williams, Graeme Fell and Simon Hoogewerf, and I quickly noticed that track was a co-ed sport. All I wanted was to get into UBC, and I did. For the next several years my life revolved around practices and races. Once I remember calling Doug when I returned from a training camp in San Diego to discover a solid foundation of snow on the ground. I asked him if practice was cancelled. “Of course not!” he said, annoyed. “Bring your shovel!” When I arrived an hour early, he was already clearing the track.

I enjoyed Doug’s never-quit attitude, his highly competitive and enthusiastic nature, and the way he taught us that the group is more powerful than any individual. He was able to handle many strong personalities. He shared our excitement when a race went well and he had wise words when it didn’t. However, I hated his whistle. It was louder than any other human sound. On Thursday nights, during the fifth out of six 800s, as soon as a small gap grew between the group and me on the backstretch, I would hear it. It sounded impatient.

Later on when many of us former athletes reached middle age, Doug and Diane continued to inspire us with their dedication to organizing the Harry Jerome International Track and Field Classic. They also put out a great book, “Start Fresh” which showed us how to eat healthy and keep fit during our peak years. As many others would attest, Dr. Clement and my UBC experience had an enormous impact on my life. I look forward to celebrating with Dr. Clement and the other former Thunderbird coaches, athletes and friends of track and field. and I hope to see you there celebrating their accomplishments as well.

Ticket sales end Monday and can be acquired here:

Al Klassen

BPE '93


 

 

A non-profit society committed to supporting UBC Track & Field's student-athletes, alumni, and coaches. We aim to facilitate their pursuit of excellence by providing them with various forms of lifeong support.

Follow UBC Track & Field: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 Recent posts: 
 Search by tags: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page